Jones-Onslow EMC selects Northside High School Teacher for Prestigious Kenan Fellowship

RELEASE DATE:  May 10, 2018

JACKSONVILLE, N.C. – Kari Cobb, a career technology and STEM teacher at Northside High School, has been named a 2018-19 Kenan Fellow. Her fellowship was made possible through a partnership between Jones-Onslow Electric Membership Corporation, North Carolina’s Electric Cooperatives and the Kenan Fellows Program for Teacher Leadership at N.C. State University.

Cobb, who has been teaching for nine years, is among the 25 teachers from across North Carolina who have been selected to participate in the 2018-19 fellowship year. Beginning in June, she will work alongside mentors and industry experts at Jones-Onslow EMC learning how power is generated and delivered; and exploring the history of the electric cooperative model and how Jones-Onslow is innovating its services and enhancing systems to continue to meet, and exceed, the expectations of its members.

“Jones-Onslow is committed to the communities we serve and we are excited to add the Kenan Fellows Program for Teacher Leadership to that community support,” said CEO Jeff Clark. “Through the program, Kari will gain valuable knowledge about JOEMC and the electric utility industry while getting hands-on experiences that she can take back to the classroom and share with her students.”

Cobb will transfer this knowledge to her students by creating lessons that will help them understand and how electricity is produced and delivered to cooperative members. Her lessons will also increase their awareness of various career pathways in the energy field and at the cooperative.

“Thanks to the support of industry leaders such as Jones-Onslow EMC and North Carolina’s Electric Cooperatives, we are able to empower more teachers to ignite students’ passion for STEM in more locations across the state,” said Dr. Elaine Franklin, director of the Kenan Fellows Program. “Their support also allows us to provide educators with knowledge of local career opportunities available to students and strengthens collaboration with industry. This is especially important in communities outside of urban centers.”

As part of the award, Kenan Fellows receive a $5,000 stipend and participate in 80 hours of professional development focused on project-based learning, digital learning, and leadership development. Educators who complete the year-long program remain in the classroom while growing professionally as part of a statewide network of teacher leaders. Today, an elite network of more than 420 Kenan Fellows are working to improve Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) education in North Carolina and beyond.

About Jones-Onslow Electric Membership Corporation: Jones-Onslow EMC is an electric cooperative headquartered in Jacksonville, NC that serves over 75,000 members in Jones, Onslow, Pender, Crave, Duplin and Lenoir counties in southeastern North Carolina. The cooperative’s mission is to provide safe, reliable and affordable electric service (with uncompromised excellence in customer service) while committing to improve the quality of life for their members through community and civic involvement. Visit to learn more.