Kenan Fellows Program Awarded Merck Foundation Grant to Expand Environmental Education Initiatives in the Triangle

RALEIGH  — The Kenan Fellows Program for Teacher Leadership (KFP) at NC State University is pleased to announce that it has received a $25,000 grant from the Merck Foundation to grow and sustain its environmental education professional development programs in the Triangle area.

This is the second year that the Merck Foundation has supported the KFP in its efforts to impact educators and their students by offering professional learning opportunities that focus on sustainability initiatives across the state. Last year, a cohort of 25 educators from Durham Public Schools (DPS) completed a cross-curricular professional development series on food and the environment.

This year’s program includes 21 educators from DPS, Wake County Public Schools (WCPSS), and Orange County Schools. The 2022 Mountain to the Sea Scholars will spend a semester completing a series of in-person and online professional development sessions facilitated by Linda Dion, who teaches in Wake County and Robin Bulleri, an educator in Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools. Both Dion and Bulleri are KFP alumni.

The workshops include a series of site visits that will allow the Scholars to learn first-hand from field experts on a variety of water conservation issues affecting North Carolina from wetland restoration in the mountains to aquaculture on the coast. KFP has partnered with the US Army Corps of Engineers at Jordan Lake Dam, the Walnut Creek Wetland Center, Conserving Carolina and the NC Carolina Coastal Federation to provide interactive learning experiences that the Scholars will translate into relevant lessons to use in their classrooms and share with other educators. The Scholars will receive a $100 stipend upon completion of the program. Scholars are listed by school district below.

2022 Mountains to the Sea Scholars

Durham Public SchoolsOrange County SchoolsWake County Public School System
Amy Beebe, Mangum
Elementary SchoolLena Deskins, Sandy Ridge Elementary School (Kenan Fellow alum)Keegan Heron, Jordan High School

Deniseca Holloway, Spring Valley Elementary School

Paige Holt, Jordan High School

Yetta Williams, Spring Valley Elementary School (Kenan Fellow)

Andromeda Crowell,
Orange High School (Kenan Fellow alum)

Samantha Aycock, Timber Drive Elementary School

Cristina Baldyga, Mills Park Middle School

Alexandra Boyd, Apex Friendship High School (Kenan Fellow alum)

Tamitha Brown, Southeast Raleigh Elementary School

Megan Foster, Timber Drive Elementary School

Alyssa Gasperini, Wakefield Middle School

Angie Headley, A.B. Combs Leadership Magnet Elementary School

Chelsea L’Heureux, A.B. Combs Leadership Magnet Elementary School

Whitney Masterson, Panther Creek High School (Kenan Fellows alum)

Danielle McCaslin, Mills Park Middle School (Kenan Fellow alum)

Charnice Newkirk, Southeast Raleigh High School

Chad Oakley, Panther Creek High School

Lottie Peppers, Apex Friendship High School

Kimberly Perry-Sanderlin, Wakefield Middle School (Kenan Fellow alum)