Kenan Fellows Partner with Durham Public Schools and Biogen Foundation to strengthen career pathways

DURHAM, N.C. – Thanks to a grant from the Biogen Foundation, the Kenan Fellows Program for Teacher Leadership at NC State University will award fellowships to five Career Technical Education (CTE) teachers in Durham Public Schools.

Once selected, the teachers will be part of the 2021-22 Kenan Fellows cohort and their fellowship projects will focus on workforce development and career pathways in the biotechnology field. The chosen educators will intern with one of three local partners in the biotech field including Biogen, Novozymes, and the Biomanufacturing Research Institute and Technology Enterprise (BRITE) at NC Central University. The teachers will collaborate with each other and school district leaders to create resources that will help to improve the biotech industry talent pipeline.

Kenan fellowships are awarded through a competitive application process. To be eligible to apply for the Durham Teacher Leader Cluster educators must teach CTE in grades 6-12 in Durham Public Schools. As part of the fellowship, the educators will attend three residential professional learning institutes focused on project-based learning, digital learning and leadership development. Teachers remain in the classroom while completing the yearlong fellowship. Educators who complete the program say they feel a deeper connection to their community and grow professionally as part of a statewide network of teacher leaders. As their leadership skills grow, Kenan Fellows lead pro-actively within their schools and districts. Many become empowered to influence and lead educational innovation at state and national levels.

“Thanks to the support of industry leaders such as Biogen, we are able to provide educators with knowledge of local career opportunities available to students, and strengthen ties between education and industry,” said Dr. Elaine Franklin, director of the Kenan Fellows Program.

Applications will be accepted through Jan. 22, 2021. To apply, visit The awards will be announced in May during National Teacher Appreciation Week.